Tags

, , ,

Last night I was sitting with friends in Oregon around their backyard fire pit, relaxing in a comfortable patio chair with my bare feet soaking in the heat and my body relaxing into the warmth radiating from the circle. I love fires. I love watching the ever changing patterns of the flames and hearing the wood crackle, shift and spark. And I realized how much I miss that now. I’ve already talked in previous blogs about how I’m enjoying the absence of some of the duties and habits of homeownership. I still don’t miss the lawn mowing or home repair projects. But how I do miss the outdoor fires, sitting into the late night hours feeding wood, talking, gazing at the night sky and feeling my body completely relax. It is one of my favorite things to do. Maybe I’ll have to take up camping.

