There’s an African proverb I recently heard quoted by another Risa, the president of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. “If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together.” Today, I ran more than 9 miles and only because I was with a group of runners. I’d have stopped long before then if alone (although I might not have gone faster). I’m trying to build my endurance and need to get past a plateau. I don’t like that I’m driving a distance to meet them…sort of defeats my “reduce” theme. But then again, I’m enjoying a new tribe. One that doesn’t choose speed or competition over camaraderie and who celebrates each others victories. All of the runners today have run marathons and most are training for at least a half in the near future. But they were genuinely excited for me that I am increasing my training miles and that was really nice.

