Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“…Cultivate poverty like a garden herb, like sage.  Do not trouble yourself much to get new things, whether clothes or friends.  Things do not change; we change.  Sell your clothes and keep your thoughts.” – Henry David Thoreau

I really like this quote, except the phrase “or friends” bothers me a bit. At first it sounds like he’s saying don’t invest in new friends. But I think he really means don’t keep replacing things, including friends. And if that’s what he meant, I’d agree. Because since moving to North Carolina we’ve developed several new friendships. They have given me new perspectives, stretched my thinking, shared my joys and struggles and deepened my sense of community.

I am still working on cultivating simplicity. It’s not easy. More things have come into our house lately than have left. New habits must be fertilized and require pulling up well-rooted thinking and behaviors. But with simplicity, I believe, comes more space, time, energy and resources for things that really matter to me–being creative, staying healthy and fostering strong relationships.  And so I press on.

