Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I recently flipped through an issue of Oprah’s magazine where I read an article on the 20 most important questions we should be asking ourselves. How does one determine the 20 absolutely most vital life questions to be answered?  Crowdsourcing. Or, as the author puts it, “I asked a whole mess of actual, free-range women what they thought every woman should ask herself.” I like it. Group wisdom. It has its merits.

What made the final list? Some of the questions are predictable (“Is this what I want to be doing?”). Some were pretty creative. Like “Why do I like {cupcakes} more than I like {people}?” You can switch out the words in the brackets. She says, “every woman has something she likes more than the somethings she’s supposed to like.” When we stop trying to conform to societal expectations about what we prefer, the vices we adopt to cope with this internal imbalance may go away too. It’s worth exploring.

How do I fill in the blanks?  It used to be, “Why do I like {flossing} more than I like {any home party…Tupperware, Pampered Chef, and most baby/wedding showers}?”  “Why do I like {office supplies} way more than I like {jewelry}?” “Why do I like {running or reading or talking} more than I like {cooking or decorating or shopping}?” Twenty years ago my social circles leaned the opposite way and I struggled not to feel deficient in the “traditional roles” of women. I embrace my preferences now.

Today it might be, Why do I like {real books} better than {ezines}? or {emails} better than {twitter posts} or {bike rides} better than {video games}. Except I doubt this has anything to do with virtues and vices and more to do with my stage of life. And that’s fine. I’m embracing the wisdom of simplicity and knowing thyself. It’s right up there with crowdsourcing, I think.

