Tags

, , , , , , ,

What is February, anyway? I always thought February was solidly winter. But recently I was told it is time to start planting spring greens like kale, beets, spinach, collards, sweet peas, arugula. That’s weird. I just can’t imagine planting anything in February. I grew up in Michigan where it wasn’t safe to plant outdoors until after Mother’s Day. The days are warming up here, more often than not. But the nights are still pretty chilly. Feels like a combination of winter and spring.

February is the shortest month of the year and was apparently named after the Latin term februum, which means purification because of a roman festival of ritual purification (Februa) held on February 15 (full moon) in the old lunar Roman calendar. This was basically spring cleaning because it coincided with “the rainy season.”

That’s interesting. My “spring cleaning” (open the windows and wash everything in sight, doesn’t kick in until March or April here (often later up north). But I am in the middle of a large purging project right now. The endless picture project plus more sorting and selling and giving away. And even more so, the newly honed skill of selectivity for not bringing in more stuff. As I sit here writing, my living areas are cluttered with these purging projects.

I’m working on having patience with the process. At least I’m in season.

