Tags

, , , , , ,

A friend of mine wrote a poignant blog ending with this quote by Oscar Wilde.

Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.”

Much like my last blog about how daily routines reveal what you’re training for, I like this quote for the idea that we are creating a lasting story with our “regular life.” The Daysman desires to write a sonnet and a book. I know from personal experience that he has already written many sonnets with his spoken words and his actions. When he does write his sonnets and books it will only be icing on the cake. For already, so many have been moved by his life.

The same can be said for many others I know. My parents and in-laws have influenced the lives of many young people over their lifetimes. My husband has creatively expressed his love and loyalty for more than two decades with his daily actions. Through deep friendships, I have experienced despair and elation, life and death, challenges and victories. I have been inspired watching people express themselves through cooking, writing, singing, gardening, serving, teaching, leading, encouraging, and even failing. Isn’t that what great art is all about?

Our lives really are set to music. I aim to make my score worth hearing.

P.S. This is my 100th blog post. I hope they are adding up to something meaningful.

