Tags

, , ,

I recently had a birthday. And I had to smile at the changing way birthday greetings arrived. I received four birthday cards via U.S. mail plus a couple of texts, four calls and a few emails. The majority of my birthday wishes, though, were from Facebook. Nearly 50 people wrote a birthday greeting on my “wall.” I understand that Facebook makes it easy with birthday reminders and all. One click and you write a few words on someone’s home page. No searching for an email, a phone number, an address or a stamp. No looking for the card that’s not too dorky or sentimental. You don’t even have to sing.

The thing is, knowing it took people little effort didn’t diminish the joy. While I greatly appreciated the extra efforts some made by leaving me a singing voice mail or handwriting a note in a card, I also loved hearing simple wishes from so many. It reminded me that I can often over think how special, personalized or creative an effort needs to be (which usually stifles any action at all). Maybe most of the time, it’s just the simple outreach that matters.

