Tags

, ,

56 is too young to die. I don’t have a strong emotional connection to Steve Jobs and yet I still grieve for his premature death. I’ve never followed his career, studied his business model, tried to understand the wizardry behind his latest technology. (I don’t even like comparing specs on products I want to buy). I do, however, love my Mac and iPod and appreciate that his amazing story began humbly in a garage. When I heard the news tonight, I immediately felt a heaviness. Jobs had a big life including a wife, four children, many friends and 49,000 employees. That’s a big presence.

I am about a decade behind Jobs in years and a lifetime behind him in innovation and making a mark on the world. I often think there’s still a lot of time to live dreams, discover new interests, create. Clearly, there are no guarantees. A former boss of mine used to say, “It’s not the years in your life, but the life in your years that matter.” That may be, but still, 56 is too young. This just reminds me again to appreciate each day, love deeply and live boldly.

