Tags

, , , ,

Aging is full of contradictions. I’m better now at listening…but my hearing is worse. I have clearer insights, but I have to hold things farther away to read them. Each year I realize a dozen more things I haven’t learned or read or seen and yet I need more sleep than ever. The empty nest is wonderful but I can’t find the nest egg. I have the benefit of experiencing decades of history but I either didn’t pay enough attention to details or I can’t remember them.

Still, especially today on Thanksgiving, I am thankful for aging. (As they say, it’s better than the alternative.) With time and experience I have learned to worry less (even with knowledge enough to worry more), love more deeply (despite past betrayals), decipher choices faster and be more content (even with a history of mistakes and regrets). And then there are unexpected benefits. As eyesight fades, wrinkles aren’t as noticeable. Dulled hearing conceals snide remarks and snoring. And, it’s easier to take risks. If it doesn’t work out, I won’t remember anyway. Here’s to getting old!

