Tags

,

Alarm Clock 3

I awoke on the morning of my recent birthday convinced I was losing my mind. I’ve heard aging can have that effect but I didn’t expect to notice it in a day. We were supposed to meet our adult children for a birthday breakfast in a nearby town. I awoke, showered and was getting dressed when my husband asked if this was the weekend the time changed. My eyes widened and my adrenaline started pumping.  “Oh my gosh,” I said with my voice rising on every word. “Yes!  The time moved forward so we’re an hour behind schedule. We’ll never make it,” I said pacing the floor. Never losing his calm demeanor he said, “this clock says 6:20.”  I lowered my voice to near normal octave, realizing my alarm clock is now my cell phone. “Oh…that’s right, the phone automatically changes, so we’re alright.”

And then just as quickly, I forgot that I’m not the only one using modern technology. “The kids will never remember the time change,” I said, speaking more quickly than my normal rapid pace. “We should call them.”  Apparently some habits, like manually changing clocks, become so ingrained that logic flies out the window. First, I called my son who most detests mornings. He seemed to be awake, although I suspect my call woke him, and said he was on track. I texted my daughter and heard right back.  However, she called within 10 minutes asking for confirmation of the time because her cell phone switched back to the old time after waking her up at the new time. As a result, she was giving her husband mixed messages—“Wake up we have to get going (to which I imagine he began stirring).” Oh wait, no…you have tons of time (to which I’m sure he immediately went back to sleep).” To the final decree, “NO WAIT…get up NOW, you only have 15 minutes left.”

My husband and I got to the restaurant 10 minutes early. Where we’re from ten minutes early is on time, on time is late. (Can you relate?) My daughter and son-in-law strolled in about ten minutes late and a call from our son ten minutes later revealed that he was at the wrong location altogether. It continued to a comedy of errors all morning.  Which was oddly comforting.  Maybe I wasn’t losing it after all.

