Tags

, , , ,

I’ve told people lately “I’m in a good place.” To my husband, I said, “I think I’m as happy right now as I’ve ever been, if not happier.” Why? I agree with Leo Babauta’s latest blogl He describes his happiness and it’s not having a large house, massive wealth, a fancy car, powerful job, or (gasp) cable t.v., because he doesn’t have those things. Neither do I. What he has is time, relationships that matter, meaningful work and health. So do I. I’m working on gaining more time, but I’ve made decisions that valued time over money and it’s improving. In fact, it’s funny. Our first home had four bedrooms, 1.5 baths, a kitchen, dining room, living room, porch, garage and basement and we bought it (we had no kids yet). We now live in ~700 square feet with 1 bedroom, 1 bath, a kitchen, living room and a little storage (our kids are grown and gone) and we’re renting. Seems backwards and some would say irresponsible. If so, I wish I would have been irresponsible sooner in life.  As Leo says:

I am very happy. It’s not a peak of happiness, but a plateau of happiness that can go on for as long as I live.

